Women Leadership Development and Economic Empowerment Seminar, Venue-Hebron UMC, Nepal

349004124_268100615668044_587467466679650165_nThe two-day seminar evidently stood out since it wasn’t a dreary lecture or a preaching session. The participants experienced a sense of physical, mental, and spiritual engagement. They were particularly happy to receive refreshments during the ice break and snacks following the presentation, and the meal itself was great. The program began in the morning at 9 am and went on till 4:30 pm. 9 am, to ensure that the majority of the participants, who have children, could drop them off at school and return home before sundown.

With the support of calming music to start, Emma Cantor, our missionary guided the participants through a ‘shibashi’ meditation, which made them feel calm and inspired. Participants have never engaged in shibashi of this nature, which relieves stress. Women felt peace and relaxed because women in Nepal normally are over-stressed by responsibilities. Emma focused on economic empowerment, leadership skills and living a healthy lifestyle, Sabina on spiritual disciplines, and I, Mina, on spiritual leadership from biblical women figures. Additionally, we had visitors from the YWCA, Druopati, and Jyoti, who shared their stories and challenged the attendees with Scripture. The United Women in Faith sent a bag with its emblem and mission statement to the participants.

The participants’ expressions:

Tsering Sherpa-Lay leader:

My desire to continue serving the Lord has been rekindled by this seminar. During the “shibashi” exercise, I laughed so much that it gave me a happy and peaceful feeling.

17 years prior to getting married, Tsering served as a pastor and evangelist in very distant hills. “I traveled for hours carrying the gospel over rivers, through jungles, over stiffs, and up and down mountains. However, after getting married and relocating to the city, my husband and I began raising 12 orphan children. However, because the donor stopped providing financial support, the orphanage only operated for four years. The only option left was to entrust the children to the care of a church pastor, who kindly let them keep in the church rather than sending them to various orphanages. The children are now adults; the oldest has just started working after finishing his bachelor’s degree, while the youngest is a high school student. As I continue to show them my love and care and as a member of the same church, the kids refer to me as “aama” a mother.

My perspectives have been transformed by this seminar. My husband departed for a job abroad shortly after the orphanage closed, and he hasn’t been back since. Nevertheless, he sends money for my son’s education, food, and rent. After twelve years, I have endured a great deal of suffering, but I am grateful for God’s grace and the support of the church family. Despite my weak physical condition, I desire to continue serving the Lord with the same fervor and zeal but in a new way.

348642899_574894838085907_3567730199489692900_nMani Sunuwar-Pastor:

“I’ve never attended a seminar like this, so I want to thank Mina and her team for inviting me. This was special because it caused me to carefully consider the calling and obligations I have been bearing. This seminar felt like something God had intended for my life’s renewal and comeback. My husband made the decision to accept the pastoral call, but four years later I had to step into his role as he went to be with the Lord forever. As an ordained pastor with two young children, I was forced to work part-time in an office to help pay for my kids’ educations and support my elderly in-laws. Now I understand why my husband urged me to pursue my M. Div. even though I was a staff nurse by career. He passed away quietly after the family’s daily prayer time and after saying a particular prayer for my children and me. He knew he was going to his father’s house.”

Pastor Mani is a young, active woman who is awaiting the results of her Bachelor of Law program. She arrived with her church worker on the first day. She had such a fortunate experience that she asked for my permission to invite two more participants the following day from her church. Sabina and I were also asked by Mani to speak at the upcoming women’s conference.

Srishti Gurung-student (Sunday School Teacher):

348596829_974940133516247_3857835069848244121_nThe group’s youngest participant was Srishti. “I’m returning home today feeling grateful, inspired, driven, hopeful, and loved. I was depressed and hopeless before coming here. My aunt was the one who urged me to attend the seminar. My reflection on the wonderful plans God has for me was stimulated by the teachings, group discussions, exercises, and testimony sharing.

Srishti’s father is a church pastor and her mother has blood cancer. With a monthly salary of $120, the pastor struggles to care for the three children while also undergoing cancer treatment. Srishti started working on the building sites at an early age to help support the family because of the family situation and the fact that she was the oldest daughter. She even took a few years off from attending school, but her quest for knowledge drove her to persevere and complete her upper secondary education. After the program, Srishti stated that she wanted to study Bachelor of Theology but the money problem was the main obstacle. Therefore, we as women leaders have decided to support her financially for 4 years of studies.

History of United Methodist Women in Nepal

The UMC Nepal had its first women and youth conference in Chitwan in 2011 under the leadership of Emma Cantor. The participants were from the 32-34 churches of UMC Nepal and it was a huge spiritual awakening. We had 150 people in each group at the conference, and the majority of the young people are currently working on a church mission. One of them, who gave his life to Jesus for a mission in the Chitwan conference, is at Hebron UMC. He even finished his B.Th. and now works at a Christian hospice center while willingly supporting the church.

We held a seminar and leadership development program in 2013, and young women Sunday school teachers in 2014. For the program’s training, Emma Cantor used the FAMA instruction book as her primary resource. Women participants at UMW are involved in ministry, therefore the investment has never been in vain.

The fourth seminar, which just concluded (23-24, 2023), was a huge blessing for the attendees, who are appreciative of the chance to attend. Participants were thankful and overjoyed for the seminar. They are being re-charged to actively move further as a women leader to make a difference.

We appreciate Emma Cantor’s efforts and her passion as a UWinFaith Missionary and passion to Nepal especially for Nepali women. Additionally, the UMW-Asia invited Sabina Thapa and Alisha to Manila for 2 months of gender training. I also had the privilege of taking part in GJV in 2011 and a facilitator program in Manila in 2013. Jesus said to the disciples, “The harvest is plentiful, but the laborers are few; therefore ask the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest”. Harvest is plenty means there are a lot of opportunities therefore, United Women in Faith Nepal can work out with planning and prayers to reach out with the Name of Jesus and bring a difference in the lives of many women, youth, and children.

Core Group member of United Women in Faith, Kathmandu, Nepal:

  1. Mina Moktan Thakali (D.Min)
  2. Sabina Thapa (M.Div)
  3. Tsering Sherpa (Evangelist and ex-pastor)
  4. Dipa Lama (M.Div)
  5. Charmeli Rai (B.Th)

Leadership Seminar in Itahari, Nepal

This event was organized for the Itahari,  Eastern Part of Nepal. The core group leader/coordinator is

Alisha Gadhanar, who a young clergy woman, attended a one month gender course at the Institute Of Women’s Studies through the guidance and support of the United Women in Faith. The training Alisha attended is based in Manila .

What is the future of women clergy in Nepal?

1. Perspective shifts—accepting oneself (self-esteem), love oneself as woman of God

2. Empower to be competent and assume leadership positions

3. Influence their society and family

4. Empower other young women.

Planning 2023-2024

  1. Young Women Conference (Age 16-35) (October 2023)
  2. Young Men and Women Studying Together  on  Gender Issues (Age 20-35)(April 2024)
  3. VBS (Vacation Bible School) (Age 5-15) (April 2024)
  4. Teenagers Seminar (Age 12-18) 2024
  5. Women’s Economic Empowerment
  6. Leadership development (continuing)